Anouk Pappers - Route 66 - Around the World in 80 Brands
Anouk Pappers - Route 66 - Around the World in 80 Brands

It’s early in the morning when we enter the Eagle Rider shop in Flagstaff. From here we will ride the Route 66 to the Santa Monica pier. We’re received by Jim, who’s a local from Arizona.

“For the trip you’re about to make, I recommend you take the Fat Boy” Jim says pointing at an impressive black bike standing just in front of the shop. I sit on the bike and push it to a vertical position to feel the weight.

Route 66 - Born to be wild

It has been some time since my last ride, so I have to get used to the weight and the power of the machine again. I push the start button and the engine emits the unmistakable Harley sound. I engage the first gear and the bike slides away very smoothly.

“Take it around the block,” Jim shouts. The bike roars when I accelerate and I become part of the traffic on the Route 66.

Visions of Easy Rider’s Peter Fonda and Dennis Hopper pop up in my mind. “Born to be wi-hild…” I sing out loud while I take my Fat Boy around the block.

As I return to the Harley shop, I see Anouk sitting on an ultra-white Heritage Softail. In her white outfit on the white bike, she looks as if she’s doing a commercial for a detergent. “Harley-Davidson makes your laundry whiter than white.”

Twenty minutes later we wave Jim goodbye and ride our bikes over the Route 66 in the direction of Kingman, from where we will make a detour to Las Vegas.

Five hours and 270 miles later we hit the Las Vegas Strip and park our Harleys in front of the Bellagio. The plan for this evening is to lose a limited amount of money at the roulette tables and see a Cirque de Soleil show in one of the theatres.

“Of course we’ll have to finish the evening in the Harley-Davidson café down on the strip,” I say. “It’s only one block from the hotel, but we’ll take our bikes anyway to make the experience complete.”

Tags: CoolTravel, cooltravel around the world, Around the World, Cool, Travel, Route 66, Born to be wild,

Leave a Reply

