Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in Seoul
Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in Seoul

In 2009 we were doing a storytelling expedition in the Amazon Rainforest. After some days traveling by plane, big boat, car and small boat, we arrived in a nature resort in the middle of nowhere. We were surrounded by hundreds of kilometres of forest and it looked as if we were the only people in this heaven of calm and serenity. Next to the local staff and our indian guide of course.

The next day, while sitting on the boardwalk overlooking the river, a boat with new guests arrived. This is where we met Lim Kyun Young for the first time. He told us, he was travelling the world in search for the last untouched places on the planet. “If I want to take pictures of the Amazon, as a virgin rainforest, it’s now!” he said. “At the pace people are cutting the trees and cultivating the area, there will be nothing virgin about it in just a few years.”

Today, a few years later, we arrive at Seoul and we’re meeting with Lim again. “Tell us what you’ve been up to after our meeting in Brazil?” I ask him as we sit down in a restaurant in the Gangnam neighbourhood.

Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in the Amazone, Brazil

Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in the Amazone, Brazil

“I found my last paradise,” Lim replies, “after quite some travelling though. I joined an expedition to Antarctica. During the trip on the boat I felt it already. The purity of the air, the cleanness of the sea… . And when I set foot on the continent, I was sure I found it. The light was amazing and the pictures… Well you should see for yourself. I have a solo exposition in Paris, which you can visit. But after dinner we can go to my studio, not far from here, where I can show you some huge prints. One meter by one meter fifty.”

“Sounds great,” I say, “let’s skip desert!”

Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in Seoul

Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in Seoul

 

Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in Seoul

Meeting LIM KYUN YOUNG in Seoul

 

 

Leave a Reply

