Around the World in 80 Brands - Berlin
Around the World in 80 Brands - Berlin

Maarten Schäfer

Our train slides smoothly into the Hauptbahnhof. “The largest interchange in the world,” I read on Wikipedia. “An unprecedented technological masterpiece.”

Anouk doesn’t really seem to care, as she exits the train without answering.

“321 metres long and 210 metres wide!” I call after her.

Berlin - Checking in - Around the World in 80 Brands Berlin – Checking in – Around the World in 80 Brands

I get my camera out of my bag and take some pictures, of the sunlight shining through the roof onto the trains. I focus on the passenger flow and push the shutter. Anouk is already at the top of the stairs, looking at me impatiently. I know this look. It appears most of the time when I’m taking pictures of important things like a roof construction or a speeding train.

“I am really craving a coffee at the Adlon Hotel!” she says.

“The weather is nice so let’s walk to the hotel, check in and head for the coffee bar.”

We walk along the…

View original post 236 more words

Leave a Reply

