Heidi Steiger Creative Visionary
Heidi Steiger Creative Visionary

What leadership qualities do women have?

Having been in leadership positions for many years, I can say that in the financial industry – traditionally a man’s world – women leadership is incredibly important. We possess many undervalued traits.

Women are more sensitive to cultural issues and pay more attention to the impact of their actions on their surroundings; both towards the people and the environment. They’re also more inclusive which makes them adept at building strong teams and getting the best out of people. I also believe women are more collaborative… and better negotiators.

What characterises your leadership style?

Next to being collaborative and inclusive, I think it’s my inherent creativity that’s one of my most important values and has allowed me to encourage a different way of thinking and acting in the financial world. I’m also a great believer in sharing my knowledge and experience of leadership with the next generation of women leaders. I’m part of the Committee of 200 – a membership organisation of the world’s most successful women entrepreneurs and corporate innovators. The primary mission of C200 is to celebrate and advance women’s leadership in business – and I’ve been lucky enough to mentor several young women in leadership positions. I say lucky because I also learnt a lot from these women. With a different generation of business leaders, comes different insights and, to some extent, different skills. I would really like to see more women of my generation being more open to other women and mentoring them – because that’s what’s needed. I feel it’s our responsibility to share our knowledge and experience: not keep it to ourselves.

Tags: Heidi Steiger, meeting Heidi Steiger, Wealthy & Wise, #CoolBrandsWomen, CoolBrands Women, CoolBrands, #CoolBrands, #CoolBrandsPeople, CoolBrands People, Creative visionary

Leave a Reply

